13
Mar
11

Lalitpur, Nepal – Kalyan Secondary School: be polite, be truthful ( Part 1 )

As promised in my articles titled ‘Nepalese children and education – a hope of a nation (part 1 & 2)’ dated February 27th and 28th, I want to inform you about the ins and outs of the Kalyan English Secondary Boarding school of Nepal.

Kalyan English Secondary Boarding School is actually located in Lalitpur, a village in the Patan district of Kathmandu. The school was founded in 1996 and was first run in a small rented house. At these days the school was under the management of 15 people and 125 students could enjoy the private education. Due to the 10-years taking civil war (1996 – 2006) between the King and the Maoists, Nepal and the Nepalese people suffered a lot. As a result of this civil war, tourism (only considerably source of income for Nepal) collapsed entirely. So my dearest friend Mr. Shyam Karki (see article published on my blog at January 27th), who was working as a tourist guide for many years, saw his income disappear.

Mr. Shyam Karki - Director of Kalyan School

In search for a new professional career, and with the assistance of some of his Belgian friends, Shyam got the opportunity to buy the school and to start his career as School Director in February 2003. Between 2003 and 2005 Shyam and his staff managed the school in the same old rented house. As more students were coming to the school, and as this old building had only small and dark classrooms, Shyam has let build the new school building in 2005. Mr. Shyam Karki (°January 27th 1964) is married to Anjoo and has two children, his son Swachchhanda  and his daughter Samriddhi.

Shyam Karki and his family.

Now the new school has around 350 students and offers education to children from Kindergarten to 10th class. Therefore there’re 14 class rooms available. Shyam is the principal (or Director) of this school and his staff exists out of 22 well qualified teachers for various subjects and 4 non-teaching staff members. Recently several volunteers came from different parts of the world, especially from English native speaking countries such as the USA and England to teach the English language. These volunteers are all graduated teachers.

The school offers a high qualified education and runs under the rules of the Nepalese Ministry of education. The education calendar (subjects, public holidays, etc…) is fixed by the government. The monthly fee to be paid by the students, is stipulated by the Nepalese government based on the facilities of the school and on the qualifications and experience of the teachers. The actual monthly fee to be paid by the students, varies between 650 Rs (around 10,00 € or US$15,00) for the nursery and kindergarten classes, to 1.290 Rs (around 20,00 € to US$30) for the students in secondary level. This fee includes the use of all facilities in the school, a high level quality education and the transportation by minibus. The extra facilities of this school are among other things: library, computer class with 6 computers and two laptops, outside play yard, music classroom, inside play yard for the children from nursery school and kindergarten and a sports play yard with possibilities to play basketball, table tennis and other sports. 

Tomorrow I will give you some additional information about this school.

14 Responses to “Lalitpur, Nepal – Kalyan Secondary School: be polite, be truthful ( Part 1 )”


  1. March 13, 2011 at 2:43 pm

    Wonderful post! I can’t wait to learn more about the school. How exactly was it purchased? I hope to volunteer someday in Nepal. Thanks again for a terrific story!

  2. 2 Manisha Karki
    June 12, 2011 at 10:12 pm

    To teach in Kalyan School, has been the best experience I had. The environment and the hospitality this school provides is incredible. I can proudly recommend this school to the youngsters as being the part of this teaching institute for several years. Thank you for mesmerizing the wonderful past. 🙂

    • June 13, 2011 at 11:10 am

      Hello Manisha,
      Thanks for your positive comments on the article about the Kalyan Seconcary School in Nepal. I know you’ve been teaching in this school for many years and you’ve always done this with all of your heart. As a well-wisher of this school and being a good friend of the director Mr. Shyam Karki, we’re trying to do our very best promote the school and to give an objective, honnest description of how the school runs and is managed. Good luck with your actual teaching job in London, England.

  3. 4 dharmabhakta
    November 23, 2012 at 3:42 am

    I also had a wonderful experience working in Kalyan School. The location was really beautiful and peaceful. I still miss my students ( must have grown up by now). The director, Mr. Shyam Karki had worked really hard to bring this school up in today’s position. He was a great person to work with. For those looking for quality and affordable education, I highly recomment this school ……

  4. 5 dharmabhakta
    November 23, 2012 at 3:44 am

    my silly mistake, highly recommend …not recomment…:))

    • February 2, 2015 at 4:25 pm

      Are you Mr.Shyam Karki I am Rizma kc. I really missed you and my friends. How’s your health. Did you know i was at Nepali when I was 4 grade. Mr.Shyam Karki can you remember me can you tell my Friends I missed them.I am still at American. I have a lot here and my school.

  5. 7 rizma
    February 2, 2015 at 12:36 am

    Hey Shyam Karki this is me Rizma Kc I missed kalyan school. Last year I was was to Nepal when I was 4 grade.

  6. 9 Rizma
    February 2, 2015 at 1:15 am

    Hey it me Rizma Kc. I missed Kalyan it be 6 year. Last year I was at Nepal when I was 4 grade

  7. February 2, 2015 at 3:22 pm

    Hey this is Rizma kc. I missed u and my friends. how’s your health. Did you know i was at Nepali when I was 4 grade. For my mom’s bother wedding. I wished I can go to Kalyan school.

  8. February 2, 2015 at 4:14 pm

    hey this is Rizma Kc. I missed kalyan. It been 6 year.Did you know i was there at Nepal when i was 4 grade.I missed you and my friends. I don’t remember my friends and can u tell me all my friends name.

  9. February 2, 2015 at 4:19 pm

    Reblogged this on rizmakc and commented:
    Hello this is Rizma Kc. I am from Nepali. Mr.Shyam Karki I missed you and my friend .How’s your health. I have a lot fun at American . Mr.Shaym Karkai can you tell my friends name.I don’t remember them.Did you know I was at Nepal when i was 4 grade.I really missed you and my friends.

  10. February 2, 2015 at 4:48 pm

    Hello this is Rizma Kc. I am from Nepali. Mr.Shyam Karki I missed you and my friend .How’s your health. I have a lot fun at American . Mr.Shaym Karkai can you tell my friends name.I don’t remember them.Did you know I was at Nepal when i was 4 grade.I really missed you and my friends.

  11. 14 JoAnna R Condeni
    April 12, 2016 at 10:55 am

    My name is JoAnna Condeni
    I am an ex-nun of 18 years.
    I have been asked to write a book about my life.
    Section 4 concerns itself with golbal unity.
    I wrote a little peace on different types of poverty. The most touching being our improvished children. These are our children too.
    I am interested in placing a few of the children’s picture’s along side of this writing.
    I am 70 yeats of age and on Medicaid myself so I am not able to pay for copyright.
    I would however plsce your donation information in my Book (Journey Within)
    I would like also to donate a percentage of the sales of my Book as the Books are sold
    Not sure of petcentage yet.
    May I have you permission to have the privilege of placing these precious photo’s in my book???
    Thank You,
    JoAnna Condeni
    Lover of Love
    Student of Life
    Namaste’ my Friends 👵💓.


Leave a Reply

